Faculty Books
 
Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd ed.

Title

Surprised by Sin: The Reader in Paradise Lost, 2nd ed.

Files

Excerpt

"In 1967 the world of Milton studies was divided into two armed camps: one proclaiming (in the tradition of Blake and Shelley) that Milton was of the devil's party with or without knowing it, the other proclaiming (in the tradition of Addison and C. S. Lewis) that the poet's sympathies are obviously with God and the angels loyal to him. The achievement of Stanley Fish's Surprised by Sin was to reconcile the two camps by subsuming their claims in a single overarching thesis: Paradise Lost is a poem about how its readers came to be the way they are - that is, fallen - and the poem's lesson is proven on a reader's impulse every time he or she finds a devilish action attractive or a godly action dismaying. Fish's argument reshaped the face of Milton studies; thirty years later the issues raised in Surprised by Sin continue to set the agenda and drive debate."--BOOK JACKET.

Description

lxxiii, 361 pages ; 21 cm

ISBN

067485747X

Publication Date

1998

Publisher

Harvard University Press

City

Cambridge, MA

Keywords

John Milton, 1608-1674, Paradise Lost, Sin in literature, Reader response criticism, Fall of man in literature, Epic poetry, English, History and criticism, Christianity and literature, 17th century

Disciplines

Arts and Humanities | English Language and Literature

Comments

With a New Preface by the Author, Second Edition. Includes bibliographical references and indexes